ACT HUB is the brainchild of Canberra's most respected theatre practitioners - Anne Somes of Free-Rain Theatre, Jarrad West of Everyman Theatre, Karen Vickery of Chaika Theatre and Chris Baldock.


Recipients of no less than 17 Canberra Critics Circle Awards between them - along with many other accolades - these artists have united under the ACT (Australian Capital Theatre) HUB banner to thrill, stimulate, challenge and entertain Canberra audiences.

With the generous support from the ACT Government, Canberra has its first and only venue dedicated solely to producing independent theatre. Situated in the gorgeous heritage-listed Causeway Hall on the edge of Kingston and close to the popular foreshore, the ACT Hub team will bring patrons 8 plays per year from Australia and around the world, with the aim of telling great stories while utilising the talents of Canberra's best theatre practitioners.

Additionally, with the creation of HUB TOO, emerging and developing local directors and artists will have support from the ACT Hub team with curated seasons chosen from submissions. Expert assistance and mentoring as well as in-kind support will allow new talent to create and showcase their work in a low-risk and nurturing environment.

As Australia's capital, Canberra deserves to experience exciting, vibrant theatre and for it to be told by the brilliant array of talent this city has to offer.

We hope that you'll come and join us, have a drink at the HUB PUB and enjoy the brilliant plays we have on offer.

find out more about the HISTORIC causeway hall here

The Act Hub Team

AnneSomes (1).jpg

Anne Somes

Free-Rain Theatre Company

Jarrad West.jpg

Jarrad West

Everyman Theatre


Karen Vickery

Chaika Theatre

The ACT HUB Personnel

Sophie Benassi, Louisa Blomfield (Marketing), Liz Bradley,

Andrea Close, Jane Duong, Kelsey Fisk,

Nikki Fitzgerald, Alice Ferguson, Cole Hilder (HUB Pub),

Joel Horwood, Alex Hoskison (HUB Pub), Amy Kowalczuk,

Tracy Noble, Matthew Ovenell, Alexandra Pelvin,

Ylaria Rogers, Holly Ross, Steph Roberts,

Natasha Vickery, Grayson Woodham, Chris Zuber

...and generous support from:

Lerida Estate Logo.png
spa logo.png